Where is the love, my dearest City of Love?

They say ignorance is bliss, and although living in denial is not always ideal, for the most part I choose to live under the rock and not keep up to date with the latest on goings of the world – and everytime I tune into the news, my living in ignorance is further justified. My entire life I have been exposed to a multicultural, “multireligion”, multi-pretty much everything background, and so every hit towards a particular culture, religion, etc tends to feel a little personal. Which is why I had to share my views about today’s horrifying events in Paris, France.

For those of you who choose to live under a rock like myself, click here to read about what happened at 11:30 Wednesday morning Parisian local time.

Having followed the unfolding of the aftermath closely, before I step out on a limb and go on, I have done my research, and these views are strictly my own. I believe in the freedom of speech and I am so blessed to live in a country that allows one to speak their own mind, speak of free will, speak without living in fear. And I am so thankful for that. And I am so heartbroken that lives were lost ironically enough in the name of democracy.

As I sit here and keep up with updates and posts and tweets and pictures, I am still shocked that instead of bringing us all a little closer in a battle to get rid of terrorism entirely and promote unity, there is so much anger and so much increasing hatred toward the Muslim community instead. On the other hand, there are plenty of others who are actually sitting there and justifying these attacks “in the name of God”. Not only is this absolutely horrifying but so far from the true teachings of Islam. Do not get me wrong. I do not condone the actions of the victims and their distasteful and disrespectful propaganda against the Islamic faith and Prophet Muhammed. But to sit there and make claims that any child of God “deserves to die” is absolutely appauling and unnerving. Nobody has the right to take away another human life. And then cower under “the name of God”. Those who kill “in the name of God” do not know God, for God is Love. With that being said, nobody has the right to make generic claims against any religion for the action of individuals belonging to a certain faith. My entire extended family on my maternal side is Muslim and they are some of the most loving compassionate individuals I know. I have the best of friends who are Muslim and they are just as equally horrified at every hit the world takes “in the name of God”.

Throughout history, God has revealed Himself to humanity through a series of divine Messengers, whose teachings guide and educate us and provide the basis for the advancement of human society. These Messengers have included Abraham, Krishna, Zoroaster, Moses, Buddha, Jesus, and Muhammad. Their religions come from the same Source and are in essence successive chapters of one religion from God. Bahá’u’lláh, the latest of these Messengers, brought new spiritual and social teachings for our time. His essential message is of unity. He taught the oneness of God, the oneness of the human family, and the oneness of religion. Bahá’ís believe the crucial need facing humanity is to find a unifying vision of the nature and purpose of life and of the future of society. Such a vision unfolds in the writings of Bahá’u’lláh.

It is so thoroughly heartbreaking to see that religion was made to unite us with God and it is now tearing us all apart. Hiding behind the façade of what some believe is “avenging God”, these individuals forget that all the Teachings in every Holy Scripture in every religion all boil down to all of us being children of God. God does not punish. God is love. God is forgiving. It is not up to human beings to decide the fate of others.

Bahá’u’lláh said, “The earth is but one country and mankind its citizens,” and that, as foretold in all the sacred scriptures of the past, now is the time for humanity to live in unity.

One of my friends posted this on Twitter, and before I wrap this up, I thought it was worth sharing. “May we one day live in a world of solidarity that allows for ideas and beliefs to flow freely in society. May individuals not be silenced for expressing themselves and have their right to freedom of speech protected.”

Je suis libre.

Je suis libre de penser.

Je suis libre de tolerer.

Je suis libre de caricature.

Je suis un Charlie.

je-suis-charlie

♥♥ stethsandsprinkles

IMG_6818

Leave a Reply

